Fieldcode Manual

Tip: You can use filters for better results

The permissions menu allows you to specify exactly what a user is authorized to do inside the different Fieldcode tools. You can add new custom roles and edit custom roles in the Permissions menu. 

The three standard roles cannot be edited, instead, you have to create new custom roles, if you want to have a more granular control.
However, creating custom roles is also pretty straightforward, as you can easily start from an existing role to create your new custom role.

Three main roles could be used for categorizing created users without the extra need to create a custom role:

  • The admin role is tailored to persons managing the Fieldcode toolset for their user base and adjusting the system to company needs.
    (Users with this role can view and edit all available data of the account and additionally can configure all system settings.).
  • The engineer role is tailored to persons delivering service on the field by using the FMA app also commonly known as field service technicians.
    (Users with this role can view tickets and report them.)
  • The manager role is tailored to persons managing the service delivery also commonly known as dispatchers.
    (Users with this role can view tickets, dispatch, and report them for all dispatch groups)
What happens if a user has multiple roles assigned?

If a user has been assigned multiple roles and permissions overlap, the superior permission has priority for this user compared to the same permission of the other role. If you assign more roles to an user, permissions from other roles will also apply for this user.
Example: Let's assume the user John Doe has the admin role and the dispatcher role assigned. The dispatcher has view rights for the Timeline, while the Admin has view + edit rights. As the Admin role has stronger (view + edit) permissions, the admin permissions (view+edit) will apply to the user for the above-mentioned situation. 

What happens if a user has multiple roles assigned and filters activated?

If multiple roles have been assigned to a user and filters are activated, the role with a filter has a higher priority in the system than the role without a filter and the filter is therefore applied for this user with multiple roles.
Example: Let's assume the user Jane Doe has the admin role and a custom engineer role with a ticket filter active for the engineer role that only tickets for MyFirstProject should be assigned. 
As the user has the admin role and the custom engineer role with a ticket filter active the ticket filter will be active for this user, regardless of the activated admin role, because filters have superior priority.

  1. Go to Admin Panel -> Permissions.
  2. Click on the plus button to open the New user form.
  3. Fill in or edit the following tabs: Basic, Security Resources, Filters, and Users.
Adding a new permission set
  1. Select if your new or existing role should be active in the system.
  2. Enter a name for your new or existing role.
  3. Enter a description for your new or existing role.
For your new custom role, enter a name and description

You can now decide if you either want to start with an complete empty role or create one out of a preset
If you select an empty role or edit an existing one you can set permissions for all areas of all three applications manually..

  • Set matching checks for permissions you want to grant.
    You can decide between “view” and “edit” permission sets and grant them per application base.
  • If you select a preset, like, let’s say for example the engineer preset, you can edit already existing permissions and create a new role out of it.
    To select a preset, choose a preset from the top drop down, and set your checkmarks for the permissions as wished.
    You can decide between “view” and “edit” permission sets and grant them per application base.
Did you know?

You have the possibility to bulk-permit permissions by selecting a group of permissions. Bulk permissions will be displayed with a black-filled box.

What are view permissions?

Allows the selected role to view something on his system (eg. a component the role needs for his workflow).

What are edit permissions?

Allows the selected role to interact with something on his system (eg. interact with the Ticket Pool component).

You can set permissions for Admin panel in general, individual navigation menus, individual pages, and individual tabs.

Customizing the Admin panel permissions

You can set permissions for Work place in general, individual components, individual menus, and individual buttons.

Customizing the Work place permissions

You can set Work place view permissions for Global, Account, and Private views.
You also have the option to define default views for Account views and Private views.
Default views are the views that are pre-selected by default when the user opens Work place.

Customizing the Work place view permissions

You are able to add optional ticket filters to set permissions for specific tickets.
The Assigned toggle lets you set that users will only see tickets assigned to them.

Use case - The user role should only process tickets of a specific project.

Your filter would be: ProjectName (Condition) is equal to Demo Project (Comparison value).

Use case - The user role should only process tickets of a specific country.

Your filter would be: AffectedCountry (Condition) is equal to Germany (Comparison value).

Determining which tickets a role is allowed to see
Button permission needed for filtering out buttons
  • To filter buttons it's required that under the Security resource tab - WORK PLACE  Component: Ticket Details -> Button: Workflow buttons have the checkbox view and edit activated.
  • Otherwise, you cannot filter out buttons because you don't have superior permissions.

You can restrict the visibility of some buttons for your custom role. This could be for example useful if you don’t want to overwhelm a new dispatcher with unnecessary buttons that might not be helpful for him to fulfill the job.

By default, all buttons are visible, if you don't assign any button to the right side.

However, as soon as you assign one button to the right, only the right-assigned button will be visible for the role.

Assigning available workflow buttons to a permission set

In the final step, you assign your users to the role. This is done by drag & drop or clicking on the user you want to add to the role.
You are also able to bulk-add or bulk-remove users by using the buttons.
If you cannot find a user or the list is too big, you can also search for specific users by inserting a keyword into the search bar.

Assigning users to a role
Was this topic helpful?
0 out of 5 stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
5
How can we further improve this topic?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve this topic.
Navigation